Skip To Main Content

Hall of Fame and Alumni

Brooklyn High School Alumni

Brooklyn Hall of Fame

The Brooklyn Hall of Fame Committee is made up of a group of former Brooklyn High School Alumni.



As of January 18, 2023, only nominations on this form will be accepted.


View Hall of Fame Nomination Form



Presenting the Brooklyn City Schools Hall of Fame Class of 2023

The BCSD is proud to announce the Brooklyn City Schools Hall of Fame Class of 2023. Congratulations to Ken Soeder (1981), Len Trocano (1974), Jocelyn Rivera (2013), Kathy Kudravi (1983), Mark Maliniak (2004), Patricia Dehaney (1972), and members of the 1998 Brooklyn High School Varsity Baseball Team, and the 1983 Brooklyn High School Varsity Softball Team on this prestigious honor! Each individual inductee was selected based on noteworthy academic, athletic, and co-curricular accomplishments during their high school careers, as well as significant career and other life achievements. The 1998 Varsity Baseball and 1983 Varsity Softball teams were recognized for their respective successes in the state tournament as well as accomplishments by individual team members.  Please read below to learn more about the many impressive accomplishments of each new Hall of Fame member. On behalf of the district, congratulations once again to the Brooklyn City Schools Hall of Fame Class of 2023. Go Hurricanes!



Ken Soeder Yearbook Photo


Ken Soeder
Class of 1981

Four sport athlete in Wrestling, Baseball, Football and Track and Field

Plain Dealer Dream Team, 1st Team All-Conference (offense & defense), Honorable Mention All-Conference, led conference in scoring and named AP Northeast Ohio First Team Offense for Varsity Football Team

MVP on undefeated 1980 football team, Honorable Mention All-Ohio senior year, and East-West All Star Game participant



Len Trocano Yearbook Photo



Len Trocano
Class of 1974

Four sport athlete and co-captain in football and baseball

1st Team All-Conference in Football (1973) and Baseball (1972), and led conference with .528 batting average in 1972

Received full football scholarship to The University of Iowa, and attended CSU, Walsh University, and Canyon College of Idaho

Prestigious career includes current title of Managing Director at world-wide rubber manufacturer, Anderson International



BHS Class of 2013 Graduate Jocelyn Rivera standing on wooden bridge inside park


Jocelyn Rivera
Class of 2013

Four-year Varsity Softball and Two-year Varsity Volleyball player

Holds Brooklyn HS records for strikeouts, shutouts, and lowest ERA in a single season. Batting average of .508 during junior year.

2nd Team All-Conference in 2011 and 2012 for Volleyball

Played Division I Softball at Ball State and The University of Montevallo

First Hispanic female in school history to receive an athletic scholarship


Updated headshot of BCS HOF 2023 Inductee Kathy Kudravi


Kathy Kudravi
Class of 1983

Co-editor of school newspaper and National Honor Society member

In May 2021, was named Executive Director Campus Communications and Publications for the University of Arizona Health Sciences.

After 32 plus years in sports journalism (print, broadcast TV and digital) now leads the internal communications team at the University of Arizona Health Sciences.

Prior to this, had her own media consultancy and taught sports journalism at Arizona State University's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication for two years.

Previous stops at various startup websites including the startup broadcast network American Sports Network, CNN, ESPN and also spent 13 years at newspapers including the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, The Tennessean, Plain Dealer and Myrtle Beach (S.C.) Sun News.

Won two sports Emmys for her work on ESPN's SportsCenter and a Foreign Press Association Story of the Year (2013) for the documentary World Sport Presents: Branded A Rebel. Recipient of multiple Associated Press Sports Editor awards for her newspaper work.

Previously served as an 11-year board member of the Association for Women in Sports Media as chair of the executive committee and secretary/treasurer.


Updated headshot of BCS HOF 2023 Inductee Mark Maliniak


Mark Maliniak
Class of 2004

Band officer, section leader, drum major for Marching Band, and held first chairs in concert band, MAC8 honors band, and jazz ensemble

Member of National Honor Society

Has toured nationally and internationally with the Cleveland Orchestra, The Philadelphia Orchestra, The San Francisco Symphony, and The Buffalo Philharmonic

Recipient of the Dr. Calvin E. Weber Award for excellence in trumpet performance and the Roger Voisin Trumpet Award in 2011

Previously an Assistant Professor of Trumpet at The University of Akron and is currently Fourth Trumpet in the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra


Updated photo of BCS HOF 2023 Inductee Patricia Dehaney


Patricia Dehaney
Class of 1972

Member of the first Cosmetology graduating class under Mrs. Ellen Aynik

Academy Award winner for Best Makeup and Hairstyling for Vice in 2019

Three-time Makeup and Hairstyle Guild Award winner for Achievement in Best Hairstyling

Two-time British Academy Film Award winner for the movies Vice and Hillbilly Elegy

Recipient of the Critics Choice Award at the Santa Barbara Film Festival and multiple award nominations throughout her illustrious career


1998 Baseball Team Yearbook Photo


1998 Baseball Team

Front row: Joe McNamee, Matt Antal, Dave Laule, Matt Field, Jack Abbruzzese, Mike Cole. 

Second row: Coach Stanton, Andy Jankowski, Dan Gutschmidt, Bob Fronek, Micky Cruxton, Coach Hengsteller

Coached by John Hengsteler and Jeff Stanton

State Final Four finalist

Multiple players were State winners and placers, All-Ohio and conference level award winners, and recognized for athletic accomplishments at Brooklyn High School and at collegiate level

Exceeded expectations and exemplified hard work and playing as a unit over individual play


Corrected 1983 Softball Team Yearbook Photo


1983 Softball Team

Bottom row: Lisa Murphey, Sandy Wohlgemuth, Lisa Neville, Diane Wohlgemuth, Mel Merhaut, Maria Booms, Cheryl Haschak, Cheryl Karkosiak, Vickie Erhardt, Sandy Coyle, Coach Thompson.

Top row: Coach Kelber, Kay Beppler, Cathy Hartman, Kelly Wild, Donna Sullivan, Paula Kirlough, Chris Fields, Renee Timas, Shari Lowther, Lora Vrsansky, Dawn Flinn, Coach Patton.


Led by first year head coach Bob Kelber to the AA state tournament in Ashland with a 6-5 win over Columbus Desales in the regional finals. Lost in the state semifinals to Warsaw River by a score of 6-2.

Posted a perfect 13-0 conference record, winning the Inland Conference Championship, while compiling an 18-2 overall record

Nine players earned All-Inland Conference awards


Coach Joe Drago Yearbook Photo


Coach Joe Drago Wrestling Room

Varsity and Middle School wrestling room to be renamed after legendary Brooklyn Coach Joe Drago

Coached Wrestling, Softball, and Football at Brooklyn High School

Inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame


To have information posted on this page, please email